Baby Birds

 

We’ve had two nests next to the house. The first was by the back door. We tried to avoid going out that way, but when mom (a house finch) flew away one day I peeked in and there were at least two half-naked chicks had hatched (click to enlarge).

almost ready to fledge...(See photo of adult finch above)

almost ready to fledge…

The handsome red-breasted dad helped too. A week or two later the nest was empty – I hope they made it!

Note the strong bill on this male house finch (www.wilddelight.com)

A male house finch (www.wilddelight.com)

 

 

I discovered the second nest when (almost starting) to clean a window that isn’t used a lot. There were three little blue eggs and a week later these two chicks. When I opened the shade to take this picture, they opened their beaks thinking mother was back with food.

hungry chicks.097

I’ve peeked once since and they are bigger now with wing feathers marked dark  and light. I read they only nest for about 10 days and then they are on their own! Want to guess what they are? I haven’t got a good glimpse of the mother but she is a “grey-brown twitter” larger than a finch, with a long, square tail. Maybe a California towhee?

(Hey guys instead of sending me emails, please comment below to share with all. {I know the “comment” lettering is sometimes hard to see…but it is there should you wish to click on it!}  Thanks.)

3 thoughts on “Baby Birds

  1. Hello my name is Deanna Brady – nature lover. I discovered your Baby Birds – A Place in the World website and you should have a lot more visitors! Great pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

