The Best Books I Read Last Year

In the last year I read number of books I recommend. I‘ve become a little stingy with the number of stars I give a review – am I becoming jaded by the plethora of good books? Or maybe I should just give up the star system; sometimes it is like comparing apples and oranges.  All of the following are well written, but their place in my heart (rating) is based on just that. (No two people read the same book.) Fiction dominates my short list of nine, and of these, all but one are historical novels – I guess that is my favorite genre.

quiet-bookIn nonfiction my favorite book by far was Quiet by Susan Cain. The full title tells you a lot: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking. Carl Jung gave us the terms “introvert” for personality types drawn to the inner world of thought and feelings and “extrovert” for those drawn to the external life of people and activities. Gregarious extroverts are the life of the party because their brains are good at handling competing attention, whereas an introvert may feel overwhelmed by the noise and multitasking of the group setting and prefer one-on-one or a quiet evening at home. Whether you are an introvert or an extrovert who loves or works with one, this book is enlightening. Extroverted personalities are appealing yet let’s not forget great introverts such as: Frederic Chopin, Albert Einstein, William Butler Yeats, George Orwell, Steven Spielberg, Bill Gates, Eleanor Roosevelt, Rosa Parks, Mahatma Gandhi and JK Rowlings.

 41bdVJOBoxL._AC_SX60_CR,0,0,60,60_ One highly acclaimed book I gave only four stars was The Luminaries. Here’s why:  it is no easy read and yet it is worth the effort – and that’s the gist of it.  It was more of a mental challenge than pleasure to spend time with and it is LONG.   The truth is if I had never heard of it and had not known it won a Booker Prize I probably would have put it down after 50 pages.  (I felt the same way about The Goldfinch last year – sorry fans, but where was her editor?)  It’s a commitment to get through some 850 pages of changing points of view within chapters, time jumps (wait a minute that guy was dead 100 pages ago), “telling vs. showing” and dozens of characters, each with seemingly tangential stories that the reader has to keep straight. The setting, the West Coast gold rush of New Zealand, is marvelous however. In sum, Eleanor Catton breaks all the rules -and gets away with.

Others I recommend  are The Infatuations by Javier 41A22DyqYgL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Marias and Euphoria by Lily King.  (These authors are both five star writers but I base my honest opinion on how much I personally enjoyed the story.)  The Infatuations is set in Spain, and deals with death, desire, and the effects of chance and timing on outcomes. More than one infatuation is going on in this suspenseful, often dark story.  It is an intellectual novel, interesting and different, but at times pedantic with lengthy digressions.                        I love 51s2YlJboaL._AC_SX60_CR,0,0,60,60_historical fiction and have an interest in anthropology so Euphoria fit that criteria. King depicts Margaret Meade and her two lovers in the river villages of New Guinea in the 1930s and transports you in time and place; I should give it 4 1/2 stars.

wingsThe Invention of Wings, came very close to the 5 star mark. I was hesitant to read another book on the horrors and degradation of slavery, but this is a powerful novel – and based on real-life remarkable women of the time.

searchAccabadora by Michela Murgia is a little gem of a book, well-known in Italy, which won a number of European prizes. The novel takes the reader into village life in Sardinia in the 1950s.  The remarkable Bonaria is the “Accabadora” who eases the suffering of the dying, and sometimes ends it.   When her adopted child discovers this, she feels betrayed and rejects her.  A beautiful slice of life– set in a culture and place not many of us have experienced.

I’ll save my top three novels for next time – tune-in next week.

Have you read any of the above? If so do you agree/disagree?   Please share with us which books you enjoyed by commenting below.

 

2 thoughts on “The Best Books I Read Last Year

Leave a Reply

