Two Writers I would Most Like to Meet

Rats! I just found out David Sedaris is coming to our town and the tickets are already sold out. I mostly read fiction, but my two favorite nonfiction writers are both humorists: David Sedaris and Bill Bryson. They make me howl – literally! These men are incredibly witty – if asked who I  would most like to meet over a cup of coffee, it would be these two writers, preferably together. That’s not likely to happen, but fortunately I still have a number of their books yet to read.

David Sedaris

David Sedaris

Bryson

 

Sedaris is the author of ” Me Talk Pretty One Day” and “Naked”  – among other funny bestsellers and essays.

 

Bill Bryson wrote (among many others) “In a Sunburned Country” and my all-time favorite of his, “I’m A Stranger Here Myself” (a funny take on coming home after living abroad for many years).images

I can hardly believe our small town can book the likes of David Sedaris, but then I remember  Rick Steves, of “Europe Through the Back Door” fame came as well as Lewis Zamperini, the World War II prisoner of war, Olympic runner and subject of the book “Unbroken” now a feature film.

 

The library runs this Distinguished Speaker Series and someone told me we’ve also had Joyce Maynard and David Eggers. Aren’t libraries wonderful? As a person who grew up an ex-pat, without the the fantastic libraries I have access to today, I am ever appreciative and grateful.

MeTalkPrettyOneDayCover (wikipedia)

Click to see my review of  “Me Talk Pretty One Day” –  Sedaris’ hilarious book about the difficulties of learning another language.     

xITAQKB7OK5Am7vWnqR4Y80DFEVJvo5GEQppFeE-nDL_fMbZqAfj_3pLhv4CFeESmc4BQg=s85 

(Bill, I owe you one, but “The Mother Tongue” is at the top of my to read pile and I did post “I’m A Stranger Here Myself” as one of my top favorite books – see: Books I Have Known And Loved.)                

Expats note – there is (as often is the case with me) a multicultural thread to this post. Have you read Sedaris and Bryson? Who are your favorite nonfiction writers?

3 thoughts on “Two Writers I would Most Like to Meet

  1. Cinda, you’ve nailed two of my favorite writers and literary heroes. If you do happen to get these two fellows together for a cup a joe, please let me hide beneath the table so that I can take notes. I will be quiet and I promise not to tie their shoe laces together.
    I’ve still not read Sedaris’ Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls yet, but my favorite Bryce book is A Walk in the Woods.
    Brilliant stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

