A Voice for the Stolen: Speaking Up For Nigeria

I’ve thought this too.

CHALK the SUN

Reports surfaced early last week that hundreds of people, perhaps as many as 2000, were massacred by Boko Haram forces in northern Nigeria, near the Chadian border. Boko Haram, a militant, extremist Islamic separatist movement that is classified as a terrorist organization, is responsible for thousands of deaths since its emergence in 2009. In April 2014, Boko Haram kidnapped 200 schoolgirls, reportedly to make them wife-slaves; those girls remain unaccounted for and hundreds more women and children have been imprisoned and enslaved since.

Recent reports out of northern Nigeria indicate Boko Haram is using kidnapped girls as suicide bombers.

Why am I telling you this?

Because so few are talking about it.

Last week, I raged, I posted on Facebook, I tweeted, I trolled the internet for information. NPR, through the indomitable reporting of Ofeibea Quist-Arcton, as well as syndicated shows Here and Now and On the Media, has done…

View original post 582 more words

2 thoughts on “A Voice for the Stolen: Speaking Up For Nigeria

  1. Oh Cinda, thank you so much for reposting. I know we can’t pay attention to or respond to every crisis and disaster in the world- it’s just too exhausting and dispiriting. But this is one that means so much to me–one where my voice might make a difference. I’m so grateful that others care, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

