My Year in Books with Recommendations by category

Of the books I read in 2013, I reviewed 14 books on Goodreads.com. At the top was Ken Follett’s Fall of Giants.  Closely followed by Rose Tremian’s Trepass and JT Twissel’s Flipka – two very different genres. (Interestingly the two books I am reading now are by Follett and Tremian). The longest book I tackled was nonfiction: Truman by  D. McCullough, which really gave me an appreciation of the quiet president from Missouri.

FacebookProfile9780307454737_p0_v1_s260x420

Here are my recommendations by category.

  •  Nonfiction:Truman by  D. McCullough
  • Historical: Fall of Giants and Winter of World by Follett, K
  • Mystery: Flipka, by JT Twissel
  • Literary: Trepass, by Rose Tremain  (I think I like her Music and Silence even better)
  • Most Enjoyable:  a tie between The Language of Flowers by V. Diffenbach, and Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by H Simons.
  •  Honorable mention: Angel Makers by J. Gregson and Molokai by Alan Brennert.

 

See my reviews of these and others on Goodreads.  Here is the link to my all time list of favorites: goodreads.com/review/list

9780312427085_p0_v2_s114x166

You might be saying, “Hey, only one of these were published in 2013 (Flipka).”   What can I tell you?  I’ll never catch up with my “to-read” list, but you know what?  Books never grow old. Please SHARE YOUR FAVORITES by commenting below.  Here’s to making 2014 another great year of reading!

One thought on “My Year in Books with Recommendations by category

  1. Thanks so much for including Flipka. 14 books is quite an accomplishment. Aside from your wonderful book, I think I only made it through one other – Journey by Moonlight by Anton Szerb which I didn’t care for. Certainly wasn’t as entertaining as A Place in the World.

    Like

Leave a Reply

