Do You Edit as You Write?

ReBlogged from Daily (w)rite:    Do You Edit as You Write? # writing advice by Cinda Crabbe MacKinnon.

Q: How did you come up with the title?

A: I came up with the title fairly early in the game. A Place in the World is a double entendre as it is both about a certain place – a coffee finca surrounded by an emerald forest – but also about a young woman finding her place in the world.

  Q: What would you call your genre – why did you choose it?

A : It chose me. I like to think of it as mainstream or literary – that’s what I read mostly.  Is multicultural a genre?  My publisher listed it also as a “romantic adventure”.

Q: Tell us about your cover art .book cover

A: A cover is an important element since it is the first thing one sees.  I had a definite notion of what I wanted, but it took me a long while to find it.  The art work is a painting by Martin J. Heade of a cloud forest and has been a favorite of mine for years.  It captures the essence of the book and is quite beautiful.

 Q: How did you develop your characters?

A: One thing I do in the beginning is draw up detailed biographies……

Q: Tell us about your writing process. Do you edit as your write?

A: I edited as I wrote and I don’t advise it!  I would finish a chapter and compulsively rewrite instead of moving on with the story. It is better to power through a rough draft and then rewrite …..

3 thoughts on “Do You Edit as You Write?

Leave a Reply

