More Photos & notes on Dolphins

AKR#4

I think I can get away with claiming this belongs in my blog under the “Nature” category.  A previous post (Roatan) was fairly popular so thought I would share a bit more.  Many of these photos were provided by Anthony’s Key/Roatan Institute for Marine Science or professional photographers.

There are many different species of dolphins – those shown here weigh upwards of 400lbs (they are larger than porpoises).  We love them for their intelligence, their often friendly appearance (that “smile” of theirs) and their playfulness.

AKR_0026_2

“Smiling” and “talking”

playing #9

Playing. The trainer asks them to “create” and they can make up their own tricks and performances!

Like whales and porpoises they are mammals.  As a matter of fact – here’s the interesting bit – they are descended from land mammals!  We knew mammals came out of the water way back in geologic time, but here is a mammal whose ancestors (re)entered the seas roughly 50 million years ago.

AKR_181

Flying Dolphins!

Dolphins communicate with whistle-like sounds as well as clicks for echolocation.

AKR #11

A dolphin swimming on the shallows of a beach.

I’m toying with the idea of a marine biologist as a character in my next novel.  What do you think? (In the recent one, the protagonist was a rain forest biologist and her lover was a geologist – they made an interesting couple.)

4 thoughts on “More Photos & notes on Dolphins

  1. Hey Cinda – I’ve always wanted to swim with dolphins but Joel is afraid of them! He’s got some notion that they’re oversexed. LOL.

    A marine biologist would make a great protagonist and think of all the fun you’d have doing research!

    Like

  2. Hi Cinda, I have never kissed a dolphin and have always wondered what it feels like. How can you describe their skin? (now I really have to do this).

    p.s. I received your comment about re-blogging my post on Colombia and you’re more than welcome to do so. It’d be my honor. Cheers!

    Like

    • Hi Will-

      The dolphins skin is not as slippery as a fish nor rough like a shark’s. The underbelly is silky. Swimming with them was scary at first as they like to swim right up to your face mask with an open mouth and touch you – you have to be prepared! I would turn my back on them when they did that and they no doubt thought I no fun – sometimes they would bump me or swim right next to me at great speed and I had to be careful as I had a torn tendon in my arm from a recent injury. But mostly they just wanted to play. My husband says “they are just like dogs” as they would play fetch with a piece of seaweed. They seemed as happy as kids in a playground and liked to show off occasionally too. It was an incredible experience! Cinda

      Like

    • Regarding reblogging: I couldn’t find a button on your blog – apparently WordPress ( my host) only allows me to reblog other WordPress users – go figure. I will try to find a way around it – maybe I can cut and paste.

      Like

Leave a Reply

