COLOMBIA

My husband Tomas and I are here in Bogota for my school reunion with Colegio Nueva Granada.

cinda1

Me around first or second grade in Bogota.

The first day I sat at a table with my novel as I greeted arriving alumni (compañeros). Sometimes we recognize each other sometimes we don´t – or we were here in different years. I recognize classmates of my sister Carolin too, who arrives and we have lunch.  Living on different sides of the USA we haven´t seen each other in three years.

IMG_0033

We visited Zipaquira where an ancient salt mine – or part of it ( it is still an operational mine) has been turned  into a cathedral.

As we get off  the bus a colombiana passes around a roll of toilet paper – there are modern toilets at the mine  – but no toilet paper!

IMG_0030

My friend Sue passing around the toilet paper roll!

Below is the entrance to the salt mine.

IMG_0038

Mural above the entrance

IMG_0040

entrance to the mine (wood saplings are covered by steel ribs)

A picture of the light show in one of the many carved out crosses.

IMG_0065

IMG_0055

Artist(s) have carved into the salt.

IMG_0074

Town of Zipaquira

One thought on “COLOMBIA

Leave a Reply

